First Friday Paper List Post

So the tentative plan for the meat of this blog is to have at the least a post every Friday containing a list of papers from the week that caught my attention. Important disclaimer: every week I comb through publications and save the papers that I find interesting and want to read at some point. I have not read all of these papers! (I’m not superhuman). I try my best to read most of the papers eventually, but I usually have a large backlog of unread papers (like the guy in the picture up top). Without further ado, ladies and gentlemen I give you the first Friday Paper List post!

1. PKM-ζ is not required for hippocampal synaptic plasticity, learning and memory Lenora J. Volk, Julia L. Bachman, Richard Johnson, Yilin Yu & Richard L. Huganir ; Nature 2013 (link)

2. Prkcz null mice show normal learning and memory Anna M. Lee, Benjamin R. Kanter, Dan Wang, Jana P. Lim, Mimi E. Zou, Chichen Qiu, Thomas McMahon, Jahan Dadgar, Sarah C. Fischbach-Weiss & Robert O. Messing ; Nature 2013 (link)

I wanted to start with a brief highlight of the first big neuroscience news story that brought in the new year; which was the “dethroning” of PKM-ζ as the “memory molecule”. I was particularly intrigued by these findings because of the connection with my advisor and her work on the subject. Her paper wasn’t as much about asking if PKM-ζ was necessary and sufficient for LTP maintenance (this was already published), but instead I think the take-home message from her paper was providing a clear demonstration that LTP was important for storing memories in a behaving animal, or as the paper puts it testing the “maintenance hypothesis”. I think the News and Views article about these two papers does the best job of giving an overview on what these papers do and don’t say, as well as the important new questions they raise. I had a bit more to say about this myself, but I decided to move those ramblings to a separate post.

3. Orienting Towards Ensembles: From Single Cells to Neural Populations Christopher M. Lewis and Andreea E. Lazar ; Journal of Neuroscience 2013 (link)

I like these Journal Club reviews written by graduate students.

4. No Consistent Relationship between Gamma Power and Peak Frequency in Macaque Primary Visual Cortex Xiaoxuan Jia, Dajun Xing, and Adam Kohn ; Journal of Neuroscience 2013 (link)

5. Transsynaptic Tracing with Vesicular Stomatitis Virus Reveals Novel Retinal Circuitry Kevin T. Beier, Bart G. Borghuis, Rana N. El-Danaf, Andrew D. Huberman, Jonathan B. Demb, and Constance L. Cepko ; Journal of Neuroscience 2013 (link)

I think any paper that discovers novel connections is very exciting!

6. Alert Response to Motion Onset in the Retina Eric Y. Chen, Olivier Marre, Clark Fisher, Greg Schwartz, Joshua Levy, Rava Azeredo da Silviera, and Michael J. Berry II ; Journal of Neuroscience 2013 (link)

I think it is pretty amazing that there is so much processing in the retina, so early on in the visual system. Also it would be interesting to see how this might tie in with responses in the superior colliculus.

7. Different Orientation Tuning of Near- and Far-Surround Suppression in Macaque Primary Visual Cortex Mirrors Their Tuning in Human Perception S. Shushruth, Lauri Nurminen, Maryam Bijanzadeh, Jennifer M. Ichida, Simo Vanni, and Alessandra Angelucci ; Journal of Neuroscience 2013 (link)

8. Synchronous and Asynchronous Theta and Gamma Activity during Episodic Memory Formation John F. Burke, Kareem A. Zaghloul, Joshua Jacobs, Ryan B. Williams, Michael R. Sperling, Ashwini D. Sharan, and Michael J. Kahana ; Journal of Neuroscience 2013 (link)

9. What are the mechanisms for analogue and digital signalling in the brain? Dominique Debanne, Andrzej Bialowas & Sylvain Rama ; Nature Reviews Neuroscience 2013 (link)

10. Gating of attentional effort through the central thalamus Nicholas D Schiff, Sudhin A Shah, Andrew E Hudson, Tanya Nauvel, Steven F Kalik, and Keith P Purpura ; Journal of Neurophysiology 2013 (link)

11. High-performance execution of psychophysical tasks with complex visual stimuli in MATLAB Wael F. Asaad, Navaneethan Santhanam, Steven McClellan, and David J. Freedman ; Journal of Neurophysiology 2013 (link)

12. Novel two-alternative forced choice paradigm for bilateral vibrotactile whisker frequency discrimination in head-fixed mice and rats Johannes M. Mayrhofer, Vida Skreb, Wolfger von der Behrens, Simon Musall, Bruno Weber, and Florent Haiss ; Journal of Neurophysiology 2013 (link)

The two papers above are both innovative methodology papers. I get a lot of flack from my peers for being too much of a methods geek. I stand by my belief that methods are extremely important (maybe down the road I’ll make a post where I get on my soapbox about methods) and I’ll certainly be posting more methods papers down the road. Whether or not I post too many is of course up for debate 🙂

Finally I wanted to post a few more papers that are not exactly “hot off the presses” from this week, but they were very recent and caught my attention. The first is:

13. Visual Stimulation Reverses the Directional Preference of Direction-Selective Retinal Ganglion Cells Michal Rivlin-Etzion, Wei Wei, Marla B. Feller ; Neuron 2012 (link)

I think this is an extremely interesting paper and I’ll quote the paper’s discussion for one reason why, “The significance of these findings comes in the observation that dynamic circuit interactions can overcome an anatomical bias and change the ultimate computation performed by a neuronal circuit. Indeed, although modern ultrastructural tools provide a wealth of anatomical knowledge of the location of synaptic connections within a circuit, functional connectivity is subject to neuromodulators that control synaptic efficacy, neuronal dynamics, and excitability (Harris-Warrick and Marder,1991; Bargmann, 2012). Hence, a wiring diagram does not predict the function of a circuit but rather provides a substrate that constrains the possible computations.” 

Besides being a clear statement from the authors on the connectome debate , I think this is relevant when considering the results I mentioned earlier from the Lee lab showing how depolarization could create a place cell. It’s interesting to think about how much of a cell’s function is shaped by connectivity versus other properties, and how these are changed and implemented in the brain.

These next few papers all relate to the continued exploration of the different layers of cortex.

14. High-Resolution fMRI Reveals Laminar Differences in Neurovascular Coupling between Positive and Negative BOLD Responses Jozien Goense, Hellmut Merkle, Nikos K. Logothetis ; Neuron 2012 (link)

I was not going to mention the above paper without giving a shout out to the amazing work of Gang Chen a postdoc I had the honor of working with at Vanderbilt. I think he does fantastic work. When I was looking for his paper on the subject, I found out that despite my memory of it being accepted ages ago last year, it officially just came out this month! So here it is below:

15. Layer-specific BOLD activation in awake monkey V1 revealed by ultra-high spatial resolution functional magnetic resonance imaging Gang Chen , Feng Wang, John C. Gore, Anna W. Roe ; NeuroImage 2013 (link)

16. Laminar dependence of neuronal correlations in visual cortex Matthew A Smith, Xiaoxuan Jia, Amin Zandvakili, and Adam Kohn ; Journal of Neurophysiology 2012 (link)

17. Correlated Variability in Laminar Cortical Circuits Bryan J. Hansen, Mircea I. Chelaru, Valentin Dragoi ; Neuron 2012 (link)

As a quick and final aside I recently read and enjoyed:

18. Image sequence reactivation in awake V4 networks Sarah L. Eagleman and Valentin Dragoi PNAS 2012 (link)

but I was under the impression that this Dragoi cited above was the same as the Dragoi who has great work on sequences in hippocampus with Buzsaki…. but now I realize I was completely wrong. The latter is George Dragoi. I was so excited that someone was working across hippocampus and cortex! Too bad it was a mistake 🙂

Alright first Friday Paper List post is done! 18 papers mentioned (not counting randomly linked ones). Not too shabby. This definitely took a bit longer than I expected, but I think it’s an alright start. I promise things won’t be so lengthy once classes start back up.

As always please please please make comments in the reply thing below! I would really love to get any feedback or thoughts on any of the papers. Plus if there are any papers I missed that just came out and you think are worth mentioning please share!

Leave a Reply

